Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yep, I am all about the red velvet at the moment, but guess what these are the best red velvet cookies I’ve ever had! I was thinking of making whoopie pies with them, but the moment they were cool enough to eat Mr. Picky ate half of them so I didn’t stand a chance. But seriously these cookies are perfect. They are moist and chewy, almost cakey but not quite, and chocolaty just amazing! And make sure you don’t have pizza after them, just don’t…gash I need to workout today… And by the way the new season of the Voice started last night and can I just say I am in love with Adam Levine(hottie), even though his sense of style is questionable lol.

But anyways, make these today! 🙂

Stars: 5

Level: Easy

Comments: Red velvet and cookies. Chocolate chips. Enough said. 

Negatives: Don’t really prefer using food coloring but these are worth it. Also I’m very impatient so I hate waiting for the dough to chill.

Will I make these again? Sure! Especially for Valentine’s day 🙂

Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 12 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp red food coloring
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions: In bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla and mix to combine. On low, slowly start adding the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt and mix until the mixture just starts to come together. Add the food coloring and mix on low until it’s all mixed together and the batter is red. With a spatula, fold in the chocolate chips. Refrigerate for 2+ hours. When ready to bake, pre heat oven 350F. Drop the dough by rounded tablespoons on a baking sheet (covered in parchment paper). Bake for 10-12 mins.

Comments

  1. I am, what you would call, dessert challenged. I can do just about any meal in the kitchen, but somehow dessert always turns out hum ho. I will have to give these a shot. They seem pretty simple. *crossing my fingers*

    I like that the recipe is small so I don’t end up with 5 dozen cookies. I seriously don’t need that kind of snackage in my kitchen!!

  2. I’m LOVING your red velvet recipes! Wow!

  3. Hi Elly!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂
    These cookies look delicious… I’ve been thinking about red velvet recipes a lot lately (St Valentine), but haven’t found the right recipe yet. It looks like you have found not one but two great recipes, good for you!

  4. Hey these look great! I’ve seen red velvet cupcakes but not cookies. I love anyting with chocolate chips in it, this one’s a winner. Great for Valentine’s Day!

  5. Great photos. I am really excited to make these for my friends birthday. She loves red velvet.

  6. These look absolutely delicious. A perfect treat for Valentine’s Day!

  7. I really want to try these. Hopefully I will have time to make them soon. Will of course link to you. 🙂

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂 Awesome idea! Would be good for V-Day… make them into heart shaped cookies.

  9. Red velvet never looked better – I wonder if it impossible to do a cream cheese swirl in these 😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Tropical Caramelised German Baked Pancake

Leave a Reply

