Creme Filled Donuts with Chocolate Ganache

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone 🙂

So let’s celebrate Lovers Day with a little piece of heaven!

Since I work tonight, me and my hubby celebrated last night, we had soo much fun 🙂 We started out the night with a 5 course meal at a great French restaurant and then went to see The Vow, of course. The movie was soo cute! It can’t beat the Notebook, but it’s still really good! Thanks baby for making Valentine’s Day amazing every year 🙂

Stars: 4

Level: Moderate

Comment: These are really tasty! The donuts are crispy, the filling delicious and then topped with the chocolate ganache ahhmazing!

Negatives: To start off with fried dough. Not great for your waistline. There’s quite a few steps and components so allow yourself plenty of time. Also try not to burn yourself when frying the donuts. Ouch.

Will I make these again? Yes, if I have time and energy and I feel like getting burned haha

But let’s talk about donuts 🙂 I saw on piniterest someone using canned biscuits for donuts and I immediately knew I had to give it a try. I love donuts, but making them at home from scratch is a big project and takes a Lot of time and I’m not very patient. If I want donuts, I want them now, not tomorrow! So this is a great shortcut! This does take a little more time than a lot of my recipes (to make creme and ganache and fill each donut), but it’s totally worth it 🙂 I did use the same filling and about the same ganache as my Boston Creme Pie Cupcakes, sorry I hate repeating myself but they were soo good I couldn’t resist.

S

So here’s what you need to do:

Creme Filled Donuts with Chocolate Ganache

For the donuts:

  • 1 can biscuits (I used Grands Buttermilk but you can use any other kind just not if its flaky)
  • vegetable oil
  • in a bowl combine a little bit of sugar with cinnamon (to coat each donut)

Directions: Fill a pan with vegetable oil to about 1/2 in and heat it up for a couple of minutes over medium heat. Once hot add your biscuits and cook each side until golden brown. Drain the donuts on a paper towel and let them cool. Once cool enough to handle, roll them in the sugar and cinnamon mixture (just a light coat for extra sweetness)

Note: Be careful when flipping the donuts so you don’t spray yourself with hot oil (speaking from experience, ouch)

For creme:

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions: In a 2 quart saucepan over medium high heat, combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt. Slowly start stirring in the heavy cream until it comes to boil- stirring consistently. The mixture will start thickening so boil for about 1 min. Slowly pour half the cream mixture into the egg yolks(continue to whisk to combine) and pour it back in the pan. Return to the stove and continue to boil for 1 more minute. Let it cool to room temp then stir in the vanilla.

For ganache:

  • 5 oz dark chocolate chips
  • 6 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp kahlua
  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar

Direction: In a double broiler over medium heat, melt the chocolate with kahlua and heavy cream. Transfer to a bowl. With a hand mixer on low, beat in the confectioner sugar.

Adapted from: Little Bit Funky

To assemble: With a pastry bag, fill your cinnamon covered donuts with creme filling and top generously with ganache. Serve immediately.

Comments

  1. Wow! These look amazing.
    The Vow, eh? So is it good? The notebook style? I loved that book and the movie too 🙂
    Happy Valentine’s day to you too!

    • Yeah it’s good, not as amazing as the notebook, but still a great story! Shoulda probably waited to see it on dvd though lol! Titanic in 3D in April, can’t wait for that lol!

  2. Those look really great! I think I might give these a whirl tonight. Thanks for posting the recipe.

  3. omg. these look amazing. i’ll have to try making these one day just so i can eat them.

  4. WOW….these look so good!

Leave a Reply

