My Valentine’s Day

I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s how we celebrated ours!

We actually celebrated on the 13th because I had to work the night shift on Valentine’s Day.

When I came home from work to get ready for our date, my husband surprised me with all of this! Isn’t he the sweetest!?

White roses – my favorite!

How cute is this!He baked me a giant cookie ๐Ÿ™‚ Not from scratch but let’s not hold that against him ๐Ÿ™‚ It tasted delish!Love the bracelet he got me, but unfortunately it’s wayy too big for my wrist so we are going to have to exchange it.

And then I quickly got ready for a wonderful 5-course meal at a French restaurant called Pamplemousse. The ambiance of the restaurant is very romantic, dark lighting, candles, the booths are very cozy perfect for 2! And you just feel like you are back in France in the 70s. Definitely a romantic restaurant ๐Ÿ™‚ Their special meal included:

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  Picture found on google

First Course: A mixed garden greens salad (with some pears and roquefort) – just ok

Second Course: I had the Fettuccini a la Gerges which is pasta in a light creamy sauce with herbs, prosciuto, parmesan and gruyere. It was amazing! Chris had the Feuilletรฉ of Wild Mushrooms was was like a puff pastry with a delicious mushroom sauce. (his first time trying real truffles) I had a bite and it was pretty magical.

Third Course: Grapefruit Sorbet with champagne – we don’t really like grapefruit so didn’t really enjoy this.

Fourth Course:We both ordered the Tournedos of Prime Beef with Sauce Perigourdine. Cognac demi-Glace, Truffles which Ahhmazing -the meat was cooked to perfection, but it was served with a side of french fries(they weren’t even that great) I just expected a little more for the price and quality restaurant.

Fifth Course: I had their Dark Belgium Chocolate Mousse – the best chocolate mousse I’ve ever had! I couldn’t get enough of it!

Mr. Picky had Profiteroles au Chocolat which was really good too ๐Ÿ™‚

Their Raspberry Champagne was spectacular!

So overall dinner was fantastic! And then of course we went to see The Vow – a really cute movie ๐Ÿ™‚

So that was my Valentine’s Day! How did you celebrate yours?

Comments

  1. I have to say the profiteroles au chocolat looked delicious, I had to resist the urge to lick the puter screen! Looks like you had a really lovely romantic evening. OH and I had an indian takeaway while the kids were in bed, nice and quiet. Nothing amazing, but spending time with OH without the kids bouncing off the walls, was a nice change. :O)

    • Spending time together is what’s most important ๐Ÿ™‚ we are taking advantage that we don’t have kids yet because once we do I’m sure it will be a lot more difficult to have alone time!lol Glad you had a nice and quite Valentine’s Day ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sounds like you had a great valentines day! And it’s a bummer about the french fries.. I’d agree. It seems kinda cheap to put french fries with something like that. The profiteroles looked super yummy though! Mine was rather low key, though I did actually make one of your recipes yesterday. (boston creme cupcakes) They were tasty!

  3. Wow! This guy is TOTALLY into you! Congrats! If he should ever decide to “change venues”, keep me in mind! But I’m pretty sure he’s really devoted to you.. This is a GOOD thing! Keep up with your articles! I think they’re GREAT!

    K

  4. Lucky girl ๐Ÿ™‚ looks like you had a great night! Happy belated Valentine’s day

  5. …glad that son of mine is taking good care of you elly…even though i do happen to enjoy grapefruit, many don’t…think the sorbet was meant to “cleanse your palate” for the entree…i was a bit surprised about the “french” fries as well :p …and you do know they actually aren’t “french” at all?…i believe they derive their origin from spain…~take care “daughter”~ luv ya! โค

  6. Sooo romantic!!
    Congrats ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

