Sloppy Toms

Hi. Yes, I know I’ve been neglecting you and I’m sorry. But in my defense I’ve been going out to eat a lot and making sandwiches after work so I haven’t had much time to cook, but don’t worry in the upcoming week expect a lot new posts starting with this πŸ™‚

This turkey sloppy joe (sloppy toms I know clever right) is a great healthier alternative and I promise you won’t miss the beef even for a second! Even Mr. Picky said the meat tastes just like beef πŸ™‚ so with his approval this is a total winner! It has the perfect balance of sweet and spicy, it’sΒ totally simple and fast to make and it’s soo affordable! You gotta make this, it’s delicious!

And by the way I know I must be crazy, but I am considering become a vegetarian and Mr. Picky is totally against it. Although I adore steak, I feel like my body needs to detox from all the meat and I also love animals so it just feels like the right thing for me but the only thing is it will be very difficult to stick to especially with the biggest carnivore for a husband sooo we’ll see…. But as of now, we are eating meat lol!

And by the way, I’m totally starting to eat healthy and workout on Monday, no excuses! Who’s with me? πŸ™‚

Sloppy Toms

Serves 2 (easily multiplied)

Ingredients:

  • 5 oz mushrooms (cleaned and cut thin )
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion (diced)
  • 1/2 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 tbsp mustard (I used spicy brown)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp BBQ sauce (used Jack Daniels brown sugar)
  • 1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • about 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce (didn’t measure)
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 buns ( I used Sara Lee’s Sesame Seeds Buns)

Directions: In a saucepan (greased with about 1-2 tbsp veg oil), over medium low heat, saute the mushrooms covered for about 9 mins until golden brown (stirring occasionally). Transfer to a food processor and pulse until finely ground.

In the same saucepan (add a little more oil), over medium low heat, combine the mushrooms and onions. Saute until onions are nice and soft and then add the ground turkey. As it cooks, break up the turkey. Now add in the next 9 ingredients. Continue to cook until the turkey is browned and no longer pink. Spoon mixture in buns and top with shredded cheddar cheese, if desired. Enjoy πŸ™‚

Adapted from: Pass The Sushi

Comments

  1. I like your Sloppy Toms! Thanks for sharing!

  2. If you get a chance try Sloppy Bison, Bison Meat.

  3. I love that you used mushrooms in this!

  4. You must have a lot of fun in the kitchen. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

