Lemon Muffin Top Cookies

Every now and then, I get sick of chocolate and I crave lemons and oranges. So since I already ate all my oranges, I figured why not make some lemon cookies!? I am a total cheater though, if you haven’t noticed already I have a basic cookie recipe that I use (every time!) that just makes the most fabulous cookies and depending on what you add in it makes your cookies either chewy, crispy, caky, light or fluffy! So versatile 🙂 So I should totally have a book called “1 recipe, 100 cookies”!lol And I’m sorry that I’m giving you another cookie recipe, but last night after work, me and Mr. Picky were starving. My stomach was about to eat itself, so I have to get food right away. Plus it was a really good excuse to get some Cane’s Chicken (my guilty pleasure), but I did make dessert! Cookies, that’s pretty much my go-to easy dessert, and I am certain I can bake a batch in my sleep. But these lemon yummy cookies are out-of-this-world! To me the texture is just like the muffin top of a muffin, and that is the best part anyway! They are super light and fluffy and the lemon flavor is there, but it’s not overpowering and they are sort of refreshing, just amazing! I ate 5 right after they came out of the oven soo soon enough I too will have a muffin top!

Here’s how to make them!

Lemon Muffin Top Cookies

Makes a dozen

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 2 lemons
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  •  1/8 tsp salt
  • yellow food coloring, optional (i used about 20 drops I wanted mine to scream “Lemon!” but you can leave it out or add as little or as much as you’d like! It’s just for color, it doesn’t affect the taste.)

Directions: In the bowl of electric mixer, cream butter, sugar, egg and lemon extract until fluffy. Grate the lemon zest from the lemons and add to the mix. Squeeze the lemon juice (from both lemons) in the butter/egg mixture. Stir to combine. Add in the flour, baking soda and salt and mix on medium low-speed until the dough forms. Add the yellow food coloring (if using) and beat to combine. Refrigerate for 2+ hours or in the freezer for at least 30 mins but preferably 1hour. Scoop the dough on a pregreased (parchment paper lined) baking sheet and bake at 350F for 10-12 mins. Let cool for 5 mins and enjoy 🙂

Comments

  1. Elly, I had not noticed that about your cookie recipe but don’t laugh that book sounds like a great idea! People like simple that is equally delicious. I have a cookie recipe that calls for pudding in it, so you can change the flavor of the cookie by changing the pudding. I have always wanted to make these muffin cap type cookies. Thanks for sharing! And never apologize for bringing to many cookies, lol! 🙂

    • Thanks maybe someday 🙂 I’ve never heard of pudding in cookies, that sounds pretty amazing! and the possibilities are endless! I might just have to give that a try 🙂

      • I will have to do a post! Around the holidays they had pumpkin spice pudding….those cookies were amazing. The pudding keeps the cookies soft and chewy!

  2. 2 favorite things in one – muffin tops + cookies!

    Amanda
    softandstiffpeaks.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

