Chocolate Strawberry Pudding Cake

This is absolutely divine! Very simple and soo good!!!

So earlier this week I was craving a Pina Colada like crazy! So on my lunch break I sort of mentioned it to Mr. Picky with hopes that he will get the message and have one waiting for me when I got done with work, well he did 🙂 I was in the mood for a simple Pina Colada with fresh pineapple and some coconut milk and lots of rum, but of course he had different plans and made a Strawberry Pina Colada. Not exactly what I had in mind but every but as delicious, even more so! So the crazy man bought strawberries! And he hates them! Passionately…sigh… so I ended up with a pretty much full container of strawberries and no idea how to trick him into eating them. Until I saw this recipe of foodgawker and I knew I had to give it a go! I mean strawberries drowned in chocolate, I’m soo for that! So ever since I decided to make this dessert yesterday morning, it was on my mind the entire day! I almost made it for lunch but somehow resisted… But the wait was well worth it, it was incredible!!! Although I did confessed that there were strawberries in it, Mr. Picky loved it! He likes the strawberry flavor mixed with the chocolate and normally the seeds are what really bother him, but in this dessert he couldn’t even tell there were any 🙂 So definitely a winner in my book!

This dessert is between a lava cake and a pudding 🙂 The cake is light and fluffy and the chocolate sauce – creamy and delicious! The fresh strawberries are well hidden and go wonderfully with the chocolate and the strawberry puree just brings it over the top! Ahh serve warm with some ice cream or whipped cream and you have a magical dessert!

Here’s how to make it:

Chocolate Strawberry Pudding Cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups fresh strawberries (tops cut off and quartered)
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp granulated sugar, divided use
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Kahlua
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

For the topping:

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 3/4 cup milk

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. Pregrease a 2quart baking dish.

In a medium saucepan over medium high heat, combine half of the strawberries, 2 tbsp sugar and lemon juice. Cook for about 5 mins, stirring occasionally, until the strawberries are extremely soft. Transfer to a blender or food processor and puree until smooth. Strain.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Add the milk, butter, vanilla extract and kahlua and stir. Keep stirring until the batter comes together (it will!). It will look like a cookie dough! Fold in the strawberries and then chocolate chips. Spread on the bottom of the baking dish. Top the batter with the strawberry puree.

In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar and cocoa powder. Spread evenly on top of your strawberry puree. Top with the boiling water and milk. At this point you are thinking “What did I do wrong?” because it doesn’t look very pretty at all, but don’t worry the magic will happen once it’s baked! So put a baking sheet under your baking dish and bake for 35-45mins or until the middle is set but the edges are still gooye and bubbly. Cool for 30 mins before serving. Serve warm with lots of the chocolate sauce and whipped cream or vanilla ice cream! Enjoy 🙂

Notes: I only made half the recipe so I don’t feel tempted to eat it all! All the measurements are pretty easy to cut in half except 3/4 cup that is 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp 🙂 I made it in a 8×8 baking dish.

Recipe slightly adapted from: SugarHero

Comments

  1. I love pudding cakes! Ive never thought of putting strawberries in it before – great idea.

  2. Love your beautiful blog and the tasty recipes. Nom.

  3. I want this right now!

  4. Chocolate and strawberries! Yummy…

Leave a Reply

