Dark Chocolate Banana Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Peanut Butter Buttercream

Ohh yes! These cupcakes are soo extremely moist! Ahhmazing!

Wanna know something!? I am a mess.

I start a fire on a daily base.

I’m horrible at multi-tasking (that explains the fires).

I scream when my dough doesn’t want to rise.

I hate making buttercream. Hate it – passionately!

I get angry when I don’t get thinks right the first time.

I avoid doing things I don’t want to do. Big Time.

Especially laundry.

I put things off and remember to do them last-minute such as:

car registration, oil changes, dishes, you know how it is!

You really don’t want to look in my purse, it’s an atomic bomb just ticking to explode! Seriously lol. You can find anything and everything in it! A billion receipts, make up, grocery lists I never follow, spoons?, and a ton of gum paper wrappers….

And speaking of grocery shopping even if I have a list I always forget something! So on a good day I only go 1 for a couple of items, on a bad day about 3 times….I get distracted…

My closet is soo disorganized that every so often when I’m trying to look for something I end up finding something else that I haven’t worn in a year. Why go shopping, just recycle 🙂

I’m a very impatient driver, like please can we just all keep moving here!?

I’m pretty afraid of my crockpot, I always envision coming home to a massive fire caused by it.

And most of all I hate making buttercream! Wait I already mentioned that…oh well..

So now you know!

Yesterday I had 3 bananas laying around and they were beyond ripe! So I knew I had to use them somehow and figured why not make some cupcakes? Sure that sounds yummy. Oh crap, so now I have to make buttercream, awesome… I mean it’s really not hard to make, I just find it tedious! And I hate super sweet confectioners sugar taste to it so when I found this recipe I knew this was it 🙂 No powdered sugar involved! Say what? None! 🙂 The cupcakes are sooo easy to make and you can have the batter ready in no time! Easiest cupcake batter! The frosting is a little time-consuming (and shaw I say tedious?!) but tasted great! Great way to use a banana! And within the next couple of days I will show you what I did with the rest 🙂

Stars: 5

Level: Moderate

Comments: The cupcakes are moist, chocolaty, the frosting is slightly salty with a nice peanut flavor. Peanut butter, bananas and chocolate? match made in heaven!

Negatives: None

Will I make it again? Yes

So here’s how to make these tasty treats!

Mix together the dry ingredients!

in a small bowl or your measuring cup(thats what i did!) mash that banana 🙂

add the egg, water, milk, oil and vanilla and whisk to combine 🙂

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to combine. Batter will be a little lumpy but that’s exactly how it should be 🙂

Pour in muffin tins it will make exactly 12 cupcakes 🙂

Bake for 20 mins or until a toothpic comes out clean

In a small saucepan or heatproof bowl, combine brown sugar, egg whites and salt

Put that over a bigger saucepan with simmering water and heat until the sugar dissolves and its warm to the touch.

Transfer to the bowl of electric mixer and beat on medium speed for 15 mins or until fluffy!

Mix on high for about 7 mins or until nice peaks form

Add the peanut butter a little at a time and beat to combine.

Add the butter a tbsp at the time and beat after each addition

thats it! Frost your cupcakes

Make sure you eat one while still frosting! its ok I understand, they are too good to ressist!

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 scant cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/8 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, dark cocoa preffered!
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 1 medium sized banana)
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.Combine the dry ingredients together in a bowl (from sugar to cinnamon). In a separate bowl whisk together all the rest of the ingredients. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir to combine. You want all the dry ingredients to be wet and the mixture to be still a little lumpy. Divide the batter into 12 cupcake tins and bake for 20 mins or a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting!

Brown Sugar Peanut Butter Buttercream

Ingredients:

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 stick unsalted butter

Directions: In a heatproof bowl, stir together egg whites, brown sugar and salt. Over simmering water, heat the mixture until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is warm to the touch. Transfer to your standing mixer and beat over medium speed for 15 mins or until fluffy. Raise the speed to high and mix until stiff peaks for about 7mins. Reduce the speed to medium low and slowly start adding the peanut butter and then the butter (1tbsp at a time!) Frost your cupcakes 🙂

Comments

  1. These look delicious! I hate it when bananas are too far gone to eat, it always seems such a waste. This is a great idea and it does look quite easy. Shall probably have a go at this! Love your blogs, but they do always make me hungry, lol! :O)

  2. Those look really good. Have you tried making Swiss meringue buttercream? Your brown sugar frosting is pretty similar in method. It takes a bit longer but it is much less sweet. Sweetapolita’s blog has a really good tutorial on it. Let me know if you give it a try!

    • funny thing you mentioned that! i was going through one of my cookbooks last night and saw a recipe there for it and thought that I should give it a try! Now I’ll definitely try it 🙂

  3. Haha! At first I thought you were talking about me… 😉 I loved your recipe, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

