Grown-Up Dark Chocolate Baileys Pudding

This turned out to be the best pudding I’ve ever had! I could eat it every day for the rest of my life and be perfectly content and never get sick of it. And most importantly, it was very simple to make with ingredients I always have on hand. I mean chocolate, butter and booze that’s pretty much our household staples!

So the husband is on a diet. He wants to get his abs back and I of course can’t really complain about that, I’m all for it. So since I’m totally supportive of his cause, I won’t be making any extremely indulgent desserts in the coming days. I really don’t get him sometimes though, he wants to eat healthy yet he’s been begging me to make him another calzone. And since I’m the best wife ever, I flatly refuse each time he asks. No need for temptation.

But this pudding, I just can’t stop thinking about it. It was soo creamy, chocolaty and the Bailey’s just took it over the top! It will be great for a party because it looks very elegant served in wine glasses and topped with some whipped cream, you have to make it ahead which is always helpful when hosting a party, needs very few ingredients and it’s a breeze to make!

Stars: 5+++

Level: Easy

Comments: A grown up pudding that is to.die.for!

Negatives: Make it ahead of time because it needs to chill in the fridge!

Will I make it again? Yes

Everything you need! Butter, milk, egg, Bailey’s, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, cornstarch, sugar and instant coffee 🙂

In a saucepan, whisk together the milk, cocoa powder, sugar and cornstarch.

Cook over medium low heat (stirring constantly) until thick. 5-7 mins.

Add half of the cocoa mixture to the egg and whisk quickly to combine.

Pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan and cook until it just reaches a boil.

Turn the heat off and stir in the butter and chocolate chips. Once melted add the Bailey’s. Divide into 4 wine glasses and chill in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Serve with whipped cream!

and Enjoy 🙂

Grown-Up Dark Chocolate Bailey’s Pudding

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened dark chocolate cocoa powder (or you can use semi-sweet)
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp instant coffee
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream (I used coffee flavor)

Directions: In a small bowl, whisk the egg.

In a medium saucepan, combine the milk, sugar, cocoa powder, instant coffee and cornstarch and whisk to combine. Place the mixture ver medium low heat and cook stirring constantly for 5-7 mins or until the mixture has thickened. Remove from heat and pour half of the mixture into the egg and whisk quickly. Transfer the egg mixture back to the saucepan and cook on medium low heat just until it starts to boil. Turn off the heat and add in the butter and chocolate chips and stir until all is perfectly melted. Stir in the Bailey’s. Let it cool for 5 mins. Divide the pudding between 4 wine glasses and chill in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving. Serve with whipped cream.

Source: gimmesomeoven

Comments

  1. I’m positively drooling at this! Wow! What a swish pudding. :O)

  2. Ooooh!

  3. This looks delish! I am very impressed!

  4. I keep coming back to this recipe. I have it saved on my emails and need to try it out! Yum!

    • It has to my favorite pudding recipe, so simple yet soo rich and indulgent 🙂 Now I am craving it… I just might go and whoop some more right now! Definitely a must try!

  5. Thanks for the suggestion. It sounds delicious and looks very elegant – one I might well make for a dinner party in the future.

  6. Steffany says:

    I made this today and it was delicious! But I realized the instant coffee is missing in the directions..I would like to know when to add it so I can try it again!

    • Sorry about that you add it in the beginning with the cornstarch. I’ll correct that in the recipe. Thanks for letting me know and I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

