Banana Foster Topping: Perfect for Pancakes, French Toast and Ice Cream

So I think we’ve already established that I adore pancakes. There’s nothing more comforting than a cloud of perfect, fluffy pancakes, topped with butter and maple syrup. Well so I thought until today. But from here on, I want all of my pancakes topped with this topping! Seriously! Melted butter, caramelized brown sugar, lots of gooye bananas and Kahlua for a hint of coffee, it doesn’t get better than this!

Yes, there is pancakes hiding underneath all this richness!

And by the way, today is not my day. Not at all. After spilling milk all over my counter, breaking a glass all over the floor and stabbing my foot on a little piece that I didn’t sweep away and then having to make the pancake batter twice because somehow I messed up the 1st and they weren’t fluffy at all, just completely flat and miserable pancakes that (by my standards) are not edible at all! And to finish it all of with spilling a bag of flour on my kitchen counter, on top of the milk, and having to clean it all up – yeah I’m a mess. But guess what! After I ate these ahhmazingly wonderful pancakes, I went for a massage with my favorite girl Miranda, who by the way has the most magical hands, gives the best deep tissue and I would marry her in a heartbeat if I could- it turns out it’s overall a pretty great day:) Tomorrow back to work, so I better get on with the laundry….

Stars: 5

Level: Easy

Comments: Yum yum yum! I love banana foster so this was incredible! The bananas melt in your mouth, the brown sugar and butter sauce tastes just like caramel and served over pancakes definitely a winner!

Negatives: None

Will I make this again? Yes

For the pancakes I used Easy Breezy Banana Walnut Pancakes (without the walnuts)

Banana Foster Topping:

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 medium large bananas (a little ripe)
  • 1 tbsp Kahlua

Directions: In a saute pan, over medium high heat combine the butter and brown sugar and cook until the butter is melted and sugar is dissolved. In a single layer add the bananas and cook for 2 mins on each side or until they are softened and covered in the caramel. Lower the heat to medium low and add the Kahlua, cook for 1-2 mins. Serve over ice cream or pancakes 🙂

Comments

  1. I love bananas foster. This sounds great with the Kahlua, I will have to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

