Cuban Pork Sliders

Happy Birthday to me 🙂

Celebrating with some Pork Sliders YUM!

Although we couldn’t go on our little trip to cali because of Mr. Pickys work, I’m still having a pretty great birthday 🙂

It started off awesome by waking up to an amazing breakfast in bed that included eggs, bacon, toast and some fabulous Nutella crepes that Mr. Picky picked up from Ihop with a cute card that said “Things I’ve learned: Any pan is a no-stick pan if you no cook in it. It’s your birthday. Don’t cook.” Awww! And the most gourages bouquet of white roses and calla lilies, my favorite 🙂 Then I lounged in bed forever watching 16 and pregnant (what can I say this show is a little addictive)and went shopping with my baby sister. I was looking for a cute dress for tonight, but instead came home with a bottle of Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Extract. That excites me more than clothes lol 🙂 So so far so good 🙂 Tonight we’ll see what my hubby has in store for me and tomorrow – bbq with the fam!

But anyways, today I have something very special to share with you. Cuban Pork Sliders. Mind-blowingly delicious. These are absolutely heavenly! The pork is soo tender and packed with flavor, the little buns are the perfect vehicle for such an amazing meat, the pickles give it some crunch and zing, everything is better with some cheese and the mustard just makes it all work. Just try them and you will know what I’m talking about ok 🙂

And tomorrow I will show you how to make the slider buns 🙂

Stars: 5+++

Level: Easy

Comments: I can’t begin to fathom how much I loved these! Very flavor-full and easy to make you can’t go wrong with this!

Negatives: None it was great!

Will I make it again? Yep for sure!

 

Everything you need for your pork 🙂 Yes very budget friendly! That big chunk of meat was only $5 at my grocery store 🙂

Combine all the dry ingredients for the rub and rub them all over your pork loin.

Now sear your meat in some hot oil, this step is very important! This will give your meat a nice crust but most importantly it will give it a LOT of flavor 🙂 Basically this is where the magic happens!

Now add in some broth, bay leaves, smashed garlic and onion, turn the heat down to low, cover and in about 2 hrs the meat will be absolutely perfect! And in the mean time it will fill your kitchen with fabulous smells that will drive you crazy 🙂 You will keep opening the lid to inhale the aromas!

Rest your meat and slice it 🙂 I couldn’t wait long enough lol so the first few sliders were more like pulled pork sliders but still fabulous!

Build your slider and devour! Wasn’t this easy!?

Cuban Pork Sliders

Makes about 12 sliders (I like mine packed with meat :))

Ingredients:

  • 1.5lb boneless pork loin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 large onion, diced into large pieces
  • 5 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 lemon, washed and sliced
  • 12+ slider rolls
  • Toppings: lettuce, provolone, pickles, mustard

Directions: In a small bowl, combine the salt, black pepper, cumin and oregano. Rub it all over the pork loin. In a large pod, over medium high heat, heat the canola oil, you want it to be hot but not smoking. Sear the meat on each side until a nice crust forms. Add the chicken broth, onions, garlic, bay leaves and lemon, turn the heat down to low and cook, covered, for 1-2 hours or until the meat is cooked through. (I actually let my meat cook longer because I was out and about.) Once the meat is cooked, remove the roast from pan and cover to rest for about 10 mins. After that, slice it thin and assemble your sliders 🙂

Source: Lauren’s Latest

Comments

  1. Again, Happy Birthday!

  2. Great looking pictures and delicious looking food!!

  3. You are right, these are total yumminess!!! I hope you have a wonderful birthday!! I would totally be more excited about the vanilla too!!!!

Leave a Reply

