Good Old Fashioned Apple Pie

Pie. The perfect dessert for fall!

This was my very first apple pie! 🙂 And actually it was my very first time eating homemade apple pie! Crazy, I know! But growing up in Bulgaria, we didn’t do pie so it wasn’t until we moved to the States that I discovered it 🙂 By the way, I’m terrified of making my own pie crust. Absolutely terrified! After a few failed attempts, a ton of butter all over my kitchen, a few burnt pies and a flour explosion, I have realized that crust making is definitely one of my weaknesses and it’s the only thing holding me back from opening my own pie shop! (jk)

Give it a try! I will be experimenting this fall with more pies and I will try to master the pie crust 🙂

House update: My house is almost done!!! Just 2 and half more weeks! I’m soo excited and can’t wait to move! Also it’s the very first home I get to decorate so I’m really excited to get creative and choose everything 🙂 Pics to come!

Stars: 4.5

Level: Easy to Moderate

Comments: Oh my! The filling is soo gooye, the crust is perfectly flaky and has a nice crunch, the apples are soft with a hint of cinnamon and just melt in your mouth and the vanilla ice cream ties everything together into the perfect lazy night dessert 🙂

Negatives: I hate working with pie dough whether store bought or homemade but that’s just me!

Will I make it again? Yes I love apple pie and this one really hits the spot!

Here’s the recipe!

Good Old Fashioned Apple Pie

Ingredients:

  • 5 Gala apples
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 pie crusts
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • big dash of nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp butter, cut into very small pieces
  • 1 egg beaten with a little bit of water (egg wash)

Directions: Preheat oven to 425F.

Peel, core and slice the apples. Place the apples in a big bowl and add the lemon, sugars, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg. Mix to combine. Unroll one of the pie crusts into a pie plate allowing the crust to overhang. Spoon the apple filling into the crust and top with cut-up butter. Unroll the second crust and cut out strips. Top the pie with the strips weaving them as you go. Brush the pie crust with egg wash and bake for 30-35 mins until golden brown. Let the pie cool for 30mins. Top with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce and enjoy 🙂

Source: JustPitzing

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Meals on Wheels.

Leave a Reply

