Three Cheese Stuffed Shells with Chorizo Tomato Sauce

This meal is wonderful! The shells are slightly crunchy, the chorizo tomato sauce is pretty spicy but nicely balanced with the three cheese filling and the melted cheese on top just makes everything come together beautifully 🙂 I couldn’t get enough of it and it’s one of my favorite meals of all time!

So eating better is definitely not happening! And my boring job doesn’t help! During my 6hr shift all I can think about is food..and no I’m not exaggerating…

I get the craziest ideas sometimes and since I am ridiculously disorganized and never write anything down I often forget most of them.

But this! The second it crossed my mind I knew I had to make it right away. I absolutely love chorizo, cheese and pasta so it seemed only natural to combine everything together 🙂

And well it turned out pretty magical!

You gotta make this! Like seriously!!!!!

And after having french toast this morning, this for dinner and a few tbsp of Biscoff spread for dessert well I should really go to the gym.

And on my way home, I should stop my the store and get a box of Oreos coz…well..I’m all out…and I need some more! Desperately!

Anyways, here’s the recipe 🙂

Three Cheese Stuffed Shells with Chorizo Tomato Sauce

Serves: 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 15 jumbo shells, cooked according to package directions, drained and allowed to cool
  • 9 oz chorizo (mexican, not cured!)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 15oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 cup ricotta
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 to 1 cup more shredded mozzarella
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a saucepan lightly sprayed with cooking spray over medium high heat, cook garlic for 1 minute. Add the chorizo and break it down as it cooks. Once cooked through, drain most of the fat. Add the tomato sauce, basil, italian seasoning, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, sugar, a touch of salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then turn the heat to low and simmer for 15mins.

In a bowl combine the ricotta, 1/2 cup mozzarella, parmesan, egg, salt and plenty of pepper. Set aside.

Cover the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish with about 1/2 cup of the tomato sauce. Fill each shell with some of the cheese mixture and put in the baking dish seam side down. Repeat with the rest of the shells. Top with the remaining sauce and sprinkle more mozzarella on top. Bake for 30 mins or until it’s bubbly and the cheese is melted.

Comments

  1. Must make.

  2. These look and sound delicious! I love chorizo but rarely cook with it. Might have to give this recipe a try.

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks absolutely delicious. I love your dishes!

  4. They look delicious, we’ll have to try them!!!

  5. I have quite a bit of chorizo from our CSA but haven’t made much of it yet because it is a little too spicy for the kids — maybe the cheese will temper it? In any case – I am going to have to try this — sounds/looks amazing!

    • The cheese does cool it down a bit but it’s probably still going to be a bit too spicy for the kids… You can make the stuffed shells for them and top them with some jarred marinara sauce instead, bake them in a 8×8 dish and it will be much more kid friendly yet still delicious 🙂 But the chorizo is absolutely heavenly and I’m just wondering what to make with it next 🙂

  6. I never would have thought of doing this dish with chorizo, looks really interesting. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

