Honey Glazed Chicken

Please Like my facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/SweetAndSpicyLife

I love take out.

And totally have a love/hate relationship with Panda Express.

So last night I wanted to get my asian fix at home, so I figured why not make some chicken and drown it in sweet yet tangy yet slightly spicy honey sauce?

That sounds tasty, right?

And boy was it good!

Chris was all over it and asking for seconds.

And when he found out that there weren’t any he asked if I’m gonna finish my plate lol.

Seriously finger licking delish!

It does take a little more work than most of my recipes, but it’s pretty quick. You should have it on the table in about 35 mins 🙂

And once again, I cheated on my diet… With my nemesis…McDonalds….

Ahh what can I say, I was starving at work and that’s the easiest and quickest thing to get…

but tomorrow I will try really hard to keep up with my diet and I’ll even bring lunch to work so I’m not tempted again 🙂

Well see how it goes..

Stars: 4

Level: Moderate

Comments: The glaze is to.die.for!

Negatives: A little time consuming and be careful not to burn yourself when frying the chicken pieces!

Will I make it again? Yes but next time I will serve the glaze over some grilled chicken to make it a little healthier!

Honey Glazed Chicken

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 large chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup – 1 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • generous dash of salt and pepper
  • oil for frying
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil (or olive oil)
  • 1 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • 1/4 tsp chopped ginger
  • chopped green onions and toasted sesame seeds for garnish

Directions: In a bowl combine the flour, baking powder, egg, cornstarch, garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper and water and whisk until it resembles a pancake batter.

In a large saucepan, over medium high heat, heat up about 4 tbsp of oil. You want the pan to get hot, but not the point of smoking.

Dredge the chicken pieces into the batter, shake off excess batter and fry in the hot pan. Cook for about 4-5 mins per side or until they are golden brown.

In a saucepan combine the honey, soy, cornstarch, oil, hoisin, vinegar, garlic and ginger. Cook over medium high heat (stirring occasionally) for about 10 mins or until the sauce thickens and turns into a glaze.

In a bowl, combine the chicken and honey sauce. Garnish with toasted sesame seeds and green onions. Serve 🙂

Comments

  1. Looks terrific! Much better than Panda I think 😉 Браво 🙂

  2. Ехаа, от доста време търся подобна рецепта и мисля скоро да пробвам тази !! Изглежда супер!! 🙂

  3. This looks fantastic, easy directions, pantry ingredients… I foresee myself making them soon! Thanks for sharing! 😉

  4. Looks and sounds delicious Elly!

  5. Reblogged this on Meals on Wheels.

  6. showerstorm says:

    I’m going to have to try my hand at that, it looks delicious..

  7. adding to my list of things to try 🙂

  8. That looks so good! I’m not surprised Chris was upset that there weren’t any leftovers! Thank you for stopping by and liking my post.

  9. Wow, I haven’t touched meat in about 13 years and even I have to say that looks delicious! I’m going to have to try that some time substituting the chicken for Quorn.

Leave a Reply

