Pumpkin Parmesan Risotto

I love risotto!

It’s very versatile, easy to make and I absolutely love the creamy texture 🙂

And I know, pumpkin risotto sounds weird, but trust me it tastes ahhmazing!

Like seriously, I couldn’t stop eating it!!!

So this weekend has been very productive.

It has pretty much consisted of nonstop shopping! And what girl doesn’t love that?

Yesterday was spent buying cute things for our house…which is fun and kinda irritating.

I mean I love shopping, but I didn’t realize how many things go into decorating a home. Hopefully soon everything will be the way I want it!

And today I decided that it’s time to spend some money on myself so I went to shopping/lunch with one of my middle/high school besties, Almira.

I hadn’t seen her for a long time so it was really nice catching up and we bought some really cute things!

BTW, Las Vegas is a home to the biggest Forever 21 store in the world and I could easily spend the entire day in there 🙂

So after some much-needed shopping therapy, we went to lunch in the cutest cafe. OMG their food was soo good! Not your typical cafe – they had gourmet pastas, salads, paninis and fabulous desserts! I had pasta with grilled chicken in tomato alfredo sauce which was phenomenal and their Boston Cream Cake was unbelievably tasty! If you live in Vegas or are visiting you need to go check it out! It’s located in the Fashion Show Mall, inside Nordstrom on the top floor – definitely worth a visit!

So anyways, moving onto the risotto!

Stars: 5

Level: Moderate

Comments: Very creamy side dish that comes together in no time. The pumpkin gives a nice depth of flavor and the parmesan adds some saltiness.

Negatives: Cook it nice and slow. Risotto can be a little intimidating to the novice cook but trust me there’s nothing really difficult about it just take your time it’s worth it!

Will I make it again? Yes

Here’s how to make it:

Pumpkin Parmesan Risotto

Serves: 2 as a side

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 3 cups chicken stock, divided use
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, shredded
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a deep skillet, over medium high heat, heat the oil. Add the onion and cook until translucent (3-5mins). Add the garlic, celery and rice and cook for 2 mins. Add 1 cup of stock, lower the heat to medium low, cover with lid and cook until the rice absorbs all the liquid (about 8mins). Repeat with the rest of the chicken broth (adding it in 2 instalments). Once the rice is fully cooked, stir in the pumpkin and parmesan. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve 🙂

Comments

  1. your risotto has a nice color and it looks really delicious ^^

  2. I love everything pumpkin, so I think this is my next risotto recipe to try!

Leave a Reply

