How to make Perfect Salted Caramel Sauce

Meet one of my nemesis.

Caramel.

Until 3 days ago, I was absolutely terrified of making caramel.

I’ve been trying to face some of my fears lately: baking the cheesecake, roasting a whole chicken, now making caramel and before you know it I will be making a pie crust!

Though that last fear, I’m not ready to face yet.

Anyhow, I got the guts to attempt caramel.

I have tried in the past and have failed miserably more than once, but this time it was war.

It was time for battle and I had all my soldiers prepared and armed.

I was not losing this time.

And I didn’t.

For 10 mins, I was over the stove staring at the saucepan of boiling water and sugar.

I was not letting it burn!

And although my phone was ringing, I was receiving a bunch of txts and emails and my favorite episode of Grey’s Anatomy was on, I didn’t care, I did not take my eyes of that caramel even for a second.

Once the sugar reached that much hoped for deep amber color, it got me pumped.

And then I added the cream and the sugar started to crystallize around my whisk.

I panicked.

I was deeply wounded and about to lose this war yet again, but I didn’t give up.

Not this time.

I whisked and whisked and whisked until slowly but surely the mixture turned into exactly what I wanted.

Then I dropped my last weapon, some butter…

and I knew I had succeeded.

It was perfection! Deep, rich, luscious perfect caramel.

Everything a caramel should be.

Except now that I have mastered it, I could make it everyday.

And well I sort of have.

By the way, I would definitely not recommend taking pictures while making caramel…

Especially if you are not great in multi-tasking to begin with…

Here’s how I do it!

heavy cream, sugar, corn syrup, sea salt, vanilla and just imagine that there’s also water and butter there (I am sort of an airhead sometimes)

Combine the sugar, water and corn syrup in a saucepan

and cook over medium low heat until the sugar dissolves

Now increase the heat to medium and cook until a deep amber color

Almost there! Once you reach the desired color, turn the heat off.

Add the heavy cream and stir stir stir!

Add the butter and let it melt 🙂

and there you have it perfect caramel sauce 🙂

Perfect Salted Caramel Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tbsp corn syrup
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions:

In a saucepan, combine the sugar, water and corn syrup. Cook over medium low heat until the sugar dissolves. Increase the heat to medium and cook for about 8-10mins or until the sugar reaches deep amber color. Turn the heat off and whisk in the heavy cream, the key is keep whisking!!! If any sugar does crystallize, keep whisking! Once the heavy cream is incorporated, add the butter. Let it melt, then add the vanilla and sea salt. The caramel will get thicker as it cools! Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

Comments

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    Great post!

  2. Is it possible to make this without heavy cream. I have all ingredients but that one

    • You can substitute the heavy cream for milk or half and half but it won’t be the right consistency. What I would do is I would use milk instead and whisk it in the caramel then add a little bit of cornstarch with water and boil it down for a few mins to thicken it a bit. It will continue to thicken once cooled and refrigerated

  3. You can also try adding a tbsp of liquid glucose at the stage when the caramel reaches the right colour.
    It will prevent crystals from forming.
    I am a total convert, and I wouldn’t make caramel without it anymore!

Trackbacks

  1. […] ← How to make Perfect Salted Caramel Sauce […]

Leave a Reply

