Banana Foster Stuffed French Toast

I’m a big fat cheater.

I know.

So this might seem very similar to my caramel apple french toast.

And well it pretty much is the same thing.

I have been completely obsessing over that french toast and have been experimenting with french toast ever since.

And since I ran out of apples, I figured why not use bananas!?

Makes perfect sense, right?

And it turned out pretty awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

Only problem is that we’ve been having french toast everyday for the last week or so, and my love handles are starting to suffer.

And my scale is about to break.

And I pretty much have a heart attack every time I look at the said scale.

Like the number keeps going up and up,

and I keep wondering why?

Well between eating dozens of cupcakes, drinking a little more than usual, indulging in all things cheesy, and eating more french toast then it should be legal, I should just be happy that my jeans fit at all…

And Chris is not immune to it either.

He stepped on the scale today and was like “What the heck?” so starting tomorrow we’ll both go on a diet….

Let’s see how long that one lasts…sigh…

Tonight we indulged for the last time in some ahhmazingย food! We went to our favorite tapas place which never disappoints ๐Ÿ™‚ Always absolutely deelish and I can’t believe I haven’t blogged about it yet…Especially since I go there at least once a week…

But for now, just eat some french toast ๐Ÿ™‚

By the way, I am totally obsessed with One More Night by Maroon 5.

Even though I hear it a thousand times a day, I can’t get enough of it! And I just found out that Maroon 5 will be here in March! OMG I have to be there! I know what I want for Christmas this year ๐Ÿ˜‰

Stars: 5

Level: Moderate

Comments: Soo good! Gooey yumminess ๐Ÿ™‚ If you love banana foster you’ll love these!

Negatives: Quite a few dishes afterwards but worth it!

Will I make these again? Probably

Banana Foster Stuffed French Toast

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices Texas Toast Bread
  • 2 oz cream cheese softened
  • 1 1/2 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1 medium ripe banana, sliced
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk, skim
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • cinnamon

Directions:

For the Banana Foster: In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter and brown sugar. Add the bananas and cook until soft, cover and turn the heat off while preparing everything else.

For the french toast batter: In a shallow dish whisk the eggs, milk, vanilla and some cinnamon.

For the bread: In a bowl, combine the cream cheese and powdered sugar. Spread on all the bread sliced. Divide the bananas among 2 slices of bread and top with the remaining 2.

Assemble: Heat a skillet to medium heat and melt some butter. Dip each bread sandwich into the batter and fry in the pan until golden brown on each side. Transfer to a plate, serve immediately with maple syrup.

Comments

  1. Another “must try.” Thanks for sharing!!

  2. That looks so good! I’ll have to add this for things to try.

  3. Elly, Elly, Elly, I gain 5 pounds from your photos!

  4. This looks waaaay to good! might have to have a cheat breakfast tomorrow.

  5. Very nice! Take care and good luck with the diet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Thanks for stopping by http://www.domesticingenuity.com! This recipe looks amazing!!! I cannot wait to try it!
    Chelsey

Leave a Reply

