Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

Chicken and Dumplings.

When I think of comfort food that’s the first thing that pops up in my head.

It’s soul-warming, always delicious, perfect on a rainy day or a cold winter night and it’s definitely a crowd pleaser 🙂

I absolutely adore my crock pot and think it’s the best invention and try to use it at least once a week 🙂

And I love that I can make this soup in it!

You just chop some vegs then throw all the ingredients in the pot, 6 hrs later (and pretty much no work!) your soup is ready and it’s absolutely delish!

It doesn’t get any easier than this 🙂

And in case you’re wondering, my diet’s been going wayy better! I have been eating pretty healthy, with the occasional cupcake here and there 😉 and I even worked out!

I own the Brazilian Butt Lift program by Beach Body and I absolutely love it! It’s a ton of fun, pretty challenging but it really does work, I just need to use it more often to see results lol

I am completely bored with the gym and haven’t stepped foot in it in months so I’m always up for trying new workouts and ways to stay fit, so what’s your favorite workout? 🙂

Stars: 4.5

Level: Easy

Comments: hearty, easy soup and your family will love!

Negatives: None

Will I make it again? Yes very tasty!

Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

Serves: 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
  • 4 medium chicken breasts (about 2 lbs)
  • 3 cup chicken broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 bouillon cube, crushed
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 recipe for dumplings, below

Directions: In the crock pot, combine all the ingredients besides the dumplings and cook on HIGH for 5hrs stirring occasionally. Remove the chicken to a plate and shred with two forks. Return to the crock pot. With a rounded tbsp add the dumplings, pushing gently to submerge completely. Turn the heat down to low, cover and cook for 1 hr. Do not stir until done cooking! Serve 🙂

Dumplings:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp butter, softened
  • 3/4 cups skim milk
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions: In a bowl combine all the ingredients and stir with a fork until a dough forms.

Recipe Adapted and Dumplings from: Slow Roasted Italian

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Meals on Wheels.

  2. Looks delicious! Wish I owned a crock pot.
    A simple trick to get in more workouts is to get as much walking and moving in as possible – park farther away from the store so you have to walk father, use the stairs, take the longer route when walking to a shop, do sit ups/ push ups during commercial breaks, etc. Also, sitting on an inflatable exercise ball when at the office or at home watching TV (or blogging!) helps! It engages your core as you try and constantly keep balance.
    A little bit at a time adds up! 🙂

    • Thanks for the awesome tips 🙂 great idea I should def start using my exercise ball while blogging and during commercial breaks I do squats 🙂 and you’re right the little things you do do matter and add up over time 🙂

  3. As I have a spinal disorder it’s imperative that I exercise little but often. The toughest by far is for ‘glutes’ – steps (not the pop group,btw). Using a stable chair (without cushion) and against a wall to help stabilise simply step up unto it, stretch, and return. Repeat this with opposite leg. Repeat as often as you can. To begin with don’t do more than you’re able to. Gradually build up to 20 each leg x 5 days per week!

Leave a Reply

