Chicken Tamale Pie

I have a problem.

I am completely and insanely addicted to Pinterest.

Like I can’t stop pinning stuff!

My boards are expanding by the second and I think I’ve gained a few pounds just by looking at all the wonderful food!

And all the awesome hair/makeup tips – love em!

And let’s not mention my clothes board – driving me insane! Everything is absolutely adorable and I want it all!

And by the way my friend Sherelle and I are taking a girls trip to NYC next June for a week 🙂

I know it’s like 7 months away but we are soo excited and just can’t wait!

We’ve never been there before so it’s really exciting to plan everything and decide on where to go and what to do 🙂

So if you have suggestions – let me know 🙂

And before you know it I will probably have a pinboard for that too…

But anyways, this is a recipe that I made almost 2 weeks ago! 2 weeks ago!!!

What took me so long to post it you ask?

Laziness – that’s what!

But this recipe is ahhmazing!!!

It all starts with a layer of a sweet yet slightly spicy cornbread, then we have a layer of enchilada sauce, then a layer of chicken and to tie everything together – cheese 🙂  Top it with some cilantro or parsley and some sour cream and it’s absolutely FAB!

And can you believe it’s low-fat!? Yep only 351 calories per generous serving 🙂

Definitely a delicious meal that comes together in 30 mins and is bursting with flavor!

My hubby loved it and was really excited that we had leftovers 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

Chicken Tamale Pie

Serves: 6

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tbsp taco seasoning, divided use
  • 1/4 tsp ground red pepper
  • 15oz can cream-style corn
  • 8.5 oz box corn muffin mix (I used Jiffy’s)
  • 4 oz can diced green chiles
  • 10 oz can red enchilada sauce
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, shredded
  • 3/4 cup part-skim Mexican blend cheese
  • some parsley or cilantro and sour cream for serving

Directions: Preheat oven to 400F. Spray a pie pan with nonstick spray. (I used a 9 1/2 in pie plate!)

In a bowl, combine the milk, egg, 1/2 tbsp taco seasoning, red pepper, corn, muffin mix and green chiles – stirring until just moist. Transfer to the prepared pie plate and bake in the over for 20-25 mins or until nearly set and golden brown. Remove from the over, pierce the entire surface of the cornbread with a fork and top with enchilada sauce, chicken and cheese. Bake for additional 12-15 mins or until the cheese is melted. Serve with some chopped cilantro or parsley and sour cream. Enjoy!

Source: PreventionRD

Comments

  1. That trip sounds like so much fun!
    I loved your recipe, and is low-fat!! 🙂

  2. kendraalyse says:

    This has earned a spot on my pinterest board and next grocery list. I love me some tamales too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

