Peppermint Chocolate Bark

Hope everyone had wonderful Christmas 🙂 Sorry I haven’t been active lately but you know with the holidays life gets pretty hectic…especially if you wait to do your shopping until the very last second…

And the day before Christmas Eve I was on a mission. I had my game plan on: list of all the gifts I need to get, what stores I need to go, in what order and what section to find everything. There was no time to be looking at other things, I had to get this done..and fast. I was storming through the stores, pushing everyone out of my way and within an hour and a half I had gotten everything I needed 🙂 The only thing left was wrapping and since I’m the worst gift wrapper ever that task was transferred over to Chris 🙂 Christmas itself was a lazy day where we didn’t do much of anything. We went to Ihop for breakfast and then watched Xmas movies and played video games, very relaxing! We decided to make mostly Bulgarian food (things that are quick and easy) so I didn’t have to deal with a turkey or a ham! As far as gifts go, I am definitely a lucky girl and got everything I wanted! Chris and I decided together on the big things (I got a new Artisan Kitchen Aid Mixer-love it!) and a Wii U and he got a new scanner/printer he wanted for work. Then on Xmas we exchanged some smaller gifts. I got him an ahmazing fragrance by Yve Saint Laurent and he got me an ice cream maker (yay!), books by one of my fav authors Mary Balough, magnifying mirror, cute notepad for recipes and chocolates 🙂 My dad and my sister got me a great workout outfit which I love and a new griddle! For my dad I got crafty and created a family album. He always wanted one but didn’t have the time to make it. It was a lot of work especially since I don’t have a crafty bone in my body, but it turned out awesome and he absolutely loved it! Sometime it’s the simple things 🙂 We also got him a crockpot (I would die for mine so I had to spread the joy lol!) and a giftset from his favorite brand of whisky. For my sister we got a Victoria’s Secret matching hoodie and bottoms, Ailen a perfume she wanted, and 2 books she chose a few days ago. She is as happy little girl:) And today I received yet another gift, a package from my mother-in-law and nana-in-law- a family cookbook full of recipes that I’m soo excited to try 🙂 Thank you soo much I love it!

So enough of my ramblings, today I am sharing a quick and easy fun treat that requires 5 mins of your time, 2 ingredients and will delight everyone 🙂

Bark.

That word always makes me laugh…

bark

So chocolate bark. Do you know how easy it is to make? Like seriously, super easy.

This is not so much of a recipe, but a method. You can get creative and choose whatever topping you want. Oreos, m&ms, nuts, dried fruit, chopped PB cups… Use dark chocolate, white, semi-sweet… the possibilities are endless!

I decided to make something festive so I used a variety of crushed candy canes 🙂

Stars: 5

Level: Easy

Comments: Super fricken tasty! Easy to make 🙂 Next time I will add a drop of mint extract 🙂

Negatives: Keep in the fridge! The second you take it out it starts to melt!

Will I make it again? Yes super easy and festive

Candy Cane Dark Chocolate Bark

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • crushed candy canes

Directions: Put a baking sheet in the freezer for 20mins. Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave in 30 sec increments (stirring after each) until melted. Be careful not to burn the chocolate. Let it cool to warm. Cover the cold baking sheet with wax paper and spread the chocolate in a thin layer. Sprinkle the crushed candy canes on top and freeze for 20mins. Cut or break the bars into pieces and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Tip: To crush candy canes, put in a ziplock bag and beat with a rolling pin until crushed into small pieces 🙂

Comments

  1. I love peppermint bark and it can’t get much easier than this! 🙂 I might have to try it with white chocolate.

  2. Congrats on the ice cream maker!!

Leave a Reply

