Lighter Taco Pizza

Taco pizza.

taco pizza1

In less than 20mins.

With basic, affordable ingredients.

And sort of light.

What’s not to love!?

So you’ve probably noticed that lately I’ve been trying to lighten up everything I’ve been eating?! And well I have.

I few weeks ago I blogged a post about trying to eat healthier and that’s precisely what I’ve been doing! I’m still indulging in my dessert but I try to balance it out by eating a lot of healthy stuff during the day. So when I saw this taco pizza on Pinterest I had to make it right away.

And try to make it lighter without sacrificing flavor.

So I swapped out the ground beef for lean ground turkey, for the crust I used light crescent rolls, I also used no fat refried beans, part skim cheddar cheese…

The end result was fa-bu-lous!

The crust it light, yet crispy, the ground turkey is packed with flavor, yet not too spicy and the tomatoes add a nice sweetness to balance it all. Just a great, easy, weeknight dinner that will delight your family! 🙂

Lighter Taco Pizza

Serves: 12

Ingredients:

  • 20 oz lean ground turkey
  • 1 envelope taco seasoning
  • 2 cans light crescent rolls
  • 1 16oz can no fat refried beans
  • 2 cups park skim cheddar cheese shredded
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped or sliced
  • 1/4 cup sliced black olives, more of less to taste
  • chopped cilantro and sour cream for serving

Directions: Preheat oven to 375F.

Unroll the crescent rolls into triangles. In a jelly roll pan lightly sprayed with cooking spray, press the crescent dough to cover the bottom of the pan. With your fingers go around the edge to form a thin crust. Bake for 11-13 mins or until golden brown.

In a saute pan over medium high heat, add 1 tbsp of EVOO. Add the ground turkey and brown the meat, breaking it up as you go. Add the taco seasoning.

Place the refried beans in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 1min. Stir.

Once the crust is done baking, spread the refried beans all over it. Add the seasoned ground turkey on top, the shredded cheese, tomatoes and black olives. Bake for another 3-5mins or until the cheese is melted. Serve with chopped cilantro and sour cream.

Adapted from: TheRealMomKitchen

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on My Meals are on Wheels.

  2. I love this–so many ways you could adapt it to different tastes in the family!

  3. Mmm! Sounds fantastic! I’ll try it someday very soon 😉

  4. love the idea of a taco pizza, think I might have to try my hand at that..

Leave a Reply

