Baked Coconut Shrimp with Jalapeno Apricot Dipping Sauce

One thing that my husband thinks he absolutely hates is coconut.

coconut shrimp

So of course, I had to try to change his mind.

I love coconut shrimp but since he is very anti-coconut I have been reluctant to try it at home.

On Pinterest I saw a recipe for coconut shrimp with pineapple sauce and it looks absolutely mouth-watering divine.

Like OMG I need this in my life right this second.

coconut shrimp2

So we went to the grocery store and to his surprise I bought coconut flakes. He was all like “What do you need that for? I hate coconut!”

And so I told him that I want to attempt coconut shrimp. Well he didn’t seem pleased at all and gave me a whole spiel on how he won’t like it, but regardless I had my mind set to it and I was making some. Hey if he doesn’t want any, the more for me!

So that night I whipped a batch of coconut shrimp and my life will never be the same.

It was ridiculously easy, takes 5mins to assemble +15mins to bake and the taste would blow you away.

So I presented them in from of Your Majesty, he took one bite and what do you know? He loved them!

He couldn’t keep his hands away!

Elly and Coconut 1 – Chris 0

If you are hosting a dinner party I totally recommend making these! They are super tasty and you will definitely impress you guests! The shrimp is crunchy and slightly sweet, the sauce is sweet, tangy and slightly spicy. Just fa-bu-lous!

Coconut Shrimp with Jalapeno Apricot Sauce

Makes: 24 shrimp

For Jalapeno Apricot Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup apricot preserves
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp finely chopped jalapenos

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Cover with cling wrap and refrigerate while preparing the shrimp.

For coconut shrimp:

  • 1 lbs uncooked large shrimp (tails on, deveined)
  • 4 tbsp cornstarch (You might use less)
  • 2 cups shredded coconut
  • 2 egg whites

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Line two baking sheets with parchment papper
  2. In a bowl, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. (I did this by hand because I thought it might be fun not but you can use hand mixer)
  3. Hold the shrimp by the tail and dip in cornstarch, shaking off any excess, then in the egg whites and then in the coconut.
  4. Bake for 15-17mins flipping halfway through.

Adapted from:Quick-Dish.Tablespoon

Comments

  1. Love everything on the plate. Oh, off course you mean coconut within No 3.

  2. YUM! I adore coconut and love prawns – this is the perfect combo!

  3. marekzyskowski says:

    Something that I will try.

  4. Your presentation is beautiful making it look very delicious!

  5. Coconut shrimp is one of my favorite things! This looks delish!

  6. Looks so good:)

  7. pumpernickelsdeli says:

    I’m no coconut fan either but I may just have to try these!

  8. Gloria Schdt says:

    can you substitute wondra flour or whole wheat flour instead of corn starch?????????

Leave a Reply

