Strawberry Shortcake French Toast

I love breakfast food.

french toast

But I don’t particularly like eating breakfast during breakfast…

I know weird right.

I just don’t really like starting my day off with a heavy, buttery and about a days worth of calories consumed all in one meal.

If I do, I know I’m pretty much not going to achieve anything that day because after a big breakfast all I feel like doing is taking a looong nap.

Or crashing on the couch and watching Grey’s Anatomy.

Or crashing on my bed with a Stephanie Laurens book.

But besides that I totally dig breakfast food.

Like breakfast for dinner – I’m soo down!

And french toast is probably one of my biggest weaknesses.

Besides crepes of course, I’m European after all!

But this french toast…ohmygoodness…

Where have you been all my life?

And I actually ate it for breakfast…

The angel food cake is soo light and fluffy and slightly crunchy, the strawberry sauce is sweet and a little tangy from the lemon juice and then top it off with some cool whip and you have some of the yummiest french toast ever.

Best thing is that although its filling and totally indulging I didn’t feel like I was in a food coma after eating it 🙂 the angel food cake was a great choice in my opinion but pound cake would be really good too!

Make this for breakfast or dinner I know you’ll love it 🙂

Strawberry Shortcake French Toast

Serves: 5

For angel french toast:

  • 5 slices 1 in thick angel food cake
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • butter for frying

Directions:

  1. In a shallow bowl, whisk the eggs, milk and vanilla.
  2. In a large saucepan over medium hear, melt a little bit of butter.
  3. Dip the angel food cake slices into the egg batter, then fry in the skillet until golden brown on each side.
  4. Repeat with all the slices of angel food cake.
  5. Keep warm while preparing the strawberry sauce.

Strawberry Sauce:

  • 10 strawberries, chopped
  • 1/2 small lemon, juiced
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar

Directions:

In a saucepan over medium heat combine all the ingredients and let them cook, stirring occasionally, until the strawberries have softened and have released their natural juices (about 5mins).

To serve:

  • 1 recipe angel french toast
  • 1 recipe strawberry sauce
  • cool whip

Directions:

Place a slice of angel french toast on a plate, top with some of the strawberry sauce and top with a large dollop of cool whip.

Devour.

Comments

  1. pumpernickelsdeli says:

    Oh my, this looks absolutely delicious, I may just have to make this myself!

  2. Sounds amazing. I’ll have to Google angel food cake to try and make it.

  3. oh my gosh, the angel cake toasts look soooooo amazing and delish, I wish I could have them here with me, your post made me extremely hungry !

Leave a Reply

