Mexi Mac n Cheese

I love mac ‘n’ cheese.

mexi mac n cheese

Well pretty much anything with cheese and you can sign me up 🙂

But unfortunately most mac ‘n’ cheese is not very diet-friendly.

We are talking butter, lots of lovely butter, add to that a ton of cheese, buttery breadcrumbs and bake it until everything is melty, gooey and ahhmazing.

Doesn’t that sound lovely?

But unfortunately just thinking about it and I went up in pants-size.

But this mac ‘n’ cheese is actually pretty light.

It’s still as fab as the full-fat version except you won’t want to run on the treadmill for an hour afterwards.

And it has a slight spicy kick that I definitely appreciate! As you might know I love anything and everything spicy 🙂

Stars: 5

Level: Easy

Comments: Very flavor Mexican spin on mac n cheese! I loved it! The best part is that you cook the milk with the pasta so you have less bowls to clean 😉

Negatives: None

Will I make it again? Yes I’ve made it a few times already.

Mexi Mac ‘n’ Cheese

Servings: 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 2 cups macaroni shells
  • 1 tbsp light butter
  • 2 tbsp taco seasoning
  • 1 cup reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions:

  1. Rinse the shells under cold water for a second.
  2. In a saucepan combine the milk, shells and butter.
  3. Bring to a medium heat, but not a boil, stirring constantly.
  4. Once reached medium heat, turn to low and cook stirring occasionally until the mixture has thickened and the pasta is cooked al dente.
  5. Turn the heat off and add the cheese and taco seasoning.
  6. Stir until cheese is melted and serve 🙂

Source: Tablespoon

Comments

  1. This looks delicious! Totally bookmarking this recipe for later. Also I totally laughed out loud when you said you went up a pants size just thinking about it hahaha

  2. I have the same problem – I love mac n cheese but feel so guilty after eating it! I NEED to try this – esp. since I love spicy food as well! Thanks for sharing!!

    -S

  3. oh my! That sounds like something I would be in pig heaven eating! Off to print this to give to mommy to try. Thanks and drool! XOXO – Bacon

  4. I always love Mac n cheese, but as you said, we all know it’s not healthy at all ^^ thank you for sharing this light recipe for Mac n Cheese, such a life saver for a girl who’s obsessed with cheese stuff like me !!

  5. Oh look at the creamy delicousness!

  6. Valerie says:

    I’m definitely going to try this – I bet my whole family will love it because we all like tacos and wea ll like mac & cheese! 😀

  7. sylviadewy says:

    My friend sent me a recipe of smoky mac and cheese pasta – http://www.knorr.com/recipes/detail/11829/1/smokey-mac-cheese-pasta

    But I am definitely going to try this.. Its so creamy.. my stomach is growling just looking at the pictures 😛

  8. I really love the ingredient list here. Looks so easy and yes, light. Can’t wait to test this out 🙂

  9. This looks great!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

