Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal (Vegan)

My breakfast normally consists of a bottle of Starbucks Frappuccino. Not the healthiest option I know.

So today I decided to have real breakfast. No not pancakes or french toast. None of that, something healthy to fuel me up.

I decided on oatmeal. Fairly quick and super easy.IMG_0332edited

But when it comes to oatmeal I get a little picky. There’re a few things that are absolute must:
1. Old fashioned oats. Yes, they take longer the cook but definitely worth it.
2. It has to be sweet. Like dessert for breakfast kind of sweet.
3. It has to have some fruit. Bananas and apples are some of my fav.
4. It has to be super creamy. Like super duper creamy. So I simmer mine for about 10 mins.
5. There’s gotta be a crunch. Whether crunchy peanut butter or some nuts I gotta have the contrast between the creamy oats and crunchy nuts.

What’s your favorite way to eat oatmeal? ๐Ÿ™‚

Recipe Review:
Stars: 4.5
Level: Easy
Comments:ย Really tasty oatmeal. Sweetness of the banana and saltiness of peanut butter worked great, the slowly simmered oats were creamy, crunchy nuts, I also added some maple syrup on top.
Negatives: Not sweet enough for me. Next time I will add some honey to the oats.
Will I make it again? Yes with some honey it will be perfect!

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe banana, chopped
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2-1tsp chia seeds, optional (didn’t have any)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Toppings: nuts, cinnamon, peanut butter, maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Add the banana and coconut oil to a small saucepan and cook over medium high heat for 5 mins, stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the peanut butter, oats, milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, vanilla and stir to combing.
  3. Bring to a low boil, turn the heat to low and cook for 10mins, stirring occassionally.
  4. Transfer to a bowl, add desired toppings, grab a fork and go to town! ๐Ÿ™‚

Source: OhSheGlows

Comments

  1. Peanut butter and banana is in 99% of my breakfasts one way or another–it’s the best combo! So obviously, I love it in oatmeal ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the recipe!

  2. xjustanotherteenblogger says:

    Haha so I’m not the only one who usually just has coffee for breakfast! Winning! However, this does sound pretty bloody AMAZING. Lucky for me, I’m at my mother’s house and she has allllllllllllllllll the ingredients. Guess what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow ;]

  3. Hi! Iโ€™ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, so if youโ€™re interested please check out the link here http://bitebymichelle.com/2013/08/21/ive-been-nominated/

  4. I like my oatmeal made with heavy cream, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

